This Week’s Hot Reviews

Virginia Woolf in Manhattan
Maggie Gee | Global Book Sales/Fentum Books | 9781909572102 | March 2019

“Concerned with the modern condition, relationships, and human connection, the novel is captivated by the conflict between people’s interior lives and their ability to express that interiority to others.”—Foreword Reviews

Celestial Joyride
Michael Waters | BOA Editions | 9781942683063 | May 2016

“By no means does Celestial Joyride ever stray far from what makes it an engaging read. With language that is as concise as it is provoking, the collection transports readers to a variety of locations, encounters, and time periods—some personal and others more universal in their approach.”—American Book Review

Invasive species
Marwa Helal | Nightboat Books | 9781937658939 | January 2018

“Candid and confident about its ecosystems of influence, at times wildly omnivorous and polylingual, purposefully pedestrian at others, the lyrical avatar of Invasive species is one whose existential impulse seems to be rabid availability—to the poet’s multitude of peoples and places—negotiated crossways by a slick, uppercutting investment in infiltration rather than naturalization, divergence (not ‘diversity’), and didacticism as a form of information smuggling.”—Adroit Journal

Samuel Johnson’s Eternal Return
Martin Riker | Coffee House Press | 9781566895286 | October 2018

“A masterclass in writing compelling, well-crafted fiction.”—Boulevard Review

Comemadre
Roque Larraquy | Coffee House Press | 9781566895156 | July 2018

“[Comemadre] spins old unreliable narrator techniques into a freshly comic and grotesque examination of the various ways that we try to justify the unjustifiable.”—Barrelhouse

The Madeleine Project
Clara Beaudoux, trans. Alison Anderson | New Vessel Press | 9781939931498 | September 2017

“A coherent, compelling biography of a stranger. . . . With Twitter and other social media now used routinely—arguably, dominantly—to “out” the foibles and depredations of public figures, The Madeleine Project demonstrates a radically different possibility: the resurrection of another’s life—including delicate allusion to her secrets—with empathy, admiration, and the eye of a curator, or perhaps an artist.”—Book and Room

A Matter of Taste: A Farmer’s Market Devotee’s Semi-Reluctant Argument for Inviting Scientific Innovation to the Dinner Table
Rebecca Tucker | Coach House Books | 9781552453674 |November 2018

“Tucker cuts right to the core of the actual issues, without sepia-toned photos of rolling farm hills and accompanying folk guitar music.”—Adventures in Poor Taste

The House of Lost and Found
Martin Widmark, illus. Emilia Dziubak | Floris Books | 9781782505426 | September 2018

“Polish artist Emilia Dziubak’s illustrations contrast the gloom and doom of the old man’s sorrowful and lacking life in his rundown house with the life and comfort that just one flower and one little boy can bring. The old man’s despair is common in life and the story of his renewal is told and illustrated with compassion and hope.”—Vermont Country Sampler

It’s Only the End of the World
J.A. Henderson | Floris Books/Kelpies | 9781782505174 | November 2018

“Henderson’s cast of characters are a surprising array of society, from the best to the worst, with personalities to match. The witty banter will inspire many moments of merriment, and more than a few bouts of laughter. The growth of each character over the course of the tale gives hope for even the roughest personality, and the building of friend and family bonds tugs at the heart. This quick tale featuring a far-fetched conspiracy and looming Armageddon will fit most readers who enjoy Jeff Strand and Chris Grabenstein.”—Manhattan Book Review

Evie and the Strawberry Patch Rescue
Stefanie Dahle | Floris Books | 9781782505600 | May 2019

“The illustrations are very detailed and take a little time to see everything happening on the page —a beetle scooping water out of a flooded home, a butterfly flapping its wings to help dry a rug, and a small bug carrying a stack of tea cups.  I could see slowly reading this book with a young child so they can notice all the illustrations that enrich the text.”—Youth Services Book Review

Farmer Falgu Goes to the Kumbh Mela
Chitra Soundar, illus. Kanika Nair | Karadi Tales | 9788181903556 | September 2018

“The simple story is complemented by vivid, warm, deeply colored illustrations. Text appears in different colors and sizes, emphasizing the onomatopoeia and sensory experiences of Farmer Falgu. . . . Perfect for multicultural story time for ages 4-6, and for families seeking culturally relevant stories from Hindu mythology.”—Youth Services Book Review

Charlie’s Magical Carnival  
Marit Törnqvist | Floris Books | 9781782504603 | September 2018

Charlie’s Magical Carnival opens with a carnival that comes to town; but Charlie’s party hat, red balloon, and other embellishments are not to be found. Parents who choose this book for its unfolding pages (which likely won’t stand up to the rigors of library lending) will find colorful carnival fun depicted both visually and in text in this fun story.”—Midwest Book Review

The Wolf Who Learned Self-Control
Orianne Lallemand, illus. Eleonore Thuillier | Auzou | 9782733861479 | October 2018

The Wolf Who Learned Self-Control reviews the dilemma of a wolf whose moods change so fast, he confuses everyone around him. Obviously, he has little self-control over his emotions: the problem is, how does he learn this? Wolf may be “too excitable” but he is personable, and can be trained. His friends step in and unexpected results lend to a fine set of adventures as Wolf confronts his fears and his abilities and grows from his experience.”—Midwest Book Review

The Night Monster
Sushree Mishra, illus. Sanket Pethkar | Karadi Tales | 9788181903310 | September 2018

“The pictures are engaging, dark and muted, adding a dream-like quality to the book. They bring a sense of mystery and superbly illustrate Avi’s fear, stopping short of being scary. Some of the letters are only revealed by lifting flaps, adding reader interest and participation to the story. This is a great read-aloud book for younger children.”—BYU Children’s Book & Media Review

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply